Today, I turn Larry Bird!

March 2, 2016

Larry_Bird_33

Now, you may ask yourself……”Self, why does Mr. Bard think he has turned into Larry Bird?”  If you aren’t a basketball fan, you may be wondering who Larry Bird is, but through exceptional deductive reasoning, you might hypothesize that he may be associated with the picture above…..and YOU…my friend……..would be hypothesizically correct!

Larry Bird was one of the NBA’s greatest shooters (particularly 3-pointers) of all time.  There are countless highlight reels of him making big shots throughout his career.  He inspired a lot of people to want to play basketball, and was responsible for  most of the kids on the playground pretending to make buzzer beater baskets.

Although I did play basketball for a little while, and I did make a half-time contest 3 point shot once that resulted in winning tickets to the last Vancouver Grizzlies game held in Vancouver, that is not why I posted a picture of Larry Bird.

Today is my 33rd birthday, and thought of Larry Bird for this reason (his jersey number).  That is all :).  Enough with basketball!

Birthdays always bring about moments of reflection, so I’m going to recap what comes to mind:

  1. Exactly 4 years ago, I released my first recording, which took me to Asia, and officially sprinted down the road of music.  This will always make me smile, and has been one of the best decisions I have ever made.
  2. 0000087839_102. 3 years ago, I started walking around Canada, have covered just over 3000km, and have loved every millimetre of it!  I am very thankful for all the support and wonderful people I have shared stories and became friends with along the way.  You all inspire me to keep going
  3. 3. Just over 2 years ago, I proposed to a lady in hopes she would become Mrs. Bard.
  4. Less than a year ago, that hope became reality, and was one of the greatest days of my life!

Today, I find myself excited about a great many thing – my health, lovely people in my life, an ever curious mind, fun tools and avenues to explore my creativity, and a desire to keep adventuring further.

When I said there would be no more basketball talk….I lied.  I’ve heard the quote “You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take,” a bunch of times, although I think it was Wayne Gretzky who said that.  I’m sure Larry Bird would concur.

I’ve taken lots of shots, and have missed a whack of them.  However, the above 4 that landed were big ones, and have brought so much joy and growth.  To me, these are game winners, great motivation to keep shooting, and wouldn’t have come about without trying – like Larry Bird!

Upwards and onwards friends!  Here’s to another spin around the sun, and to new paths carved.  Who knows….perhaps I’ll do something crazy this year like maybe think about getting a new guitar case……..

Mr. Bard

IMG_3225

Leave a Reply

